Harvest Time

Posted on Updated on

download Standing at my kitchen sink playing an old Hosanna worship CD and peeling peaches for canning, I have the beautiful and familiar sensation of the Lord’s presence.  Smiling, I enjoy a few moments of His smiling, my gratitude, and that awesome feeling that time has stopped. All is right with the world.

Then the Word comes.  I capitalize “word” because it is divine.  Man shall not live by bread alone, but by the Word of God.  The Word of God usually refers to the Bible. But where did the bible come from?  Holy men who were inspired to write it, so it says.  So where did this inspiration come from? From God of course, via the Holy Spirit. If you have ever longed to meet Jesus; to talk to him, to dine with him, to bend his ear a minute, or sit at his feet, or even throw things at him, you may find yourself empty and frustrated that he is not here.  But I will let you in on a little secret.  He said he was leaving but would not leave us comfortless.  He said he would send another, who would be with us always.  That “other” is the Holy Spirit.  He is God with us.  The Omnipresent one.  And He is the one who inspired those “men of old” to write what they wrote.   And here is another mystery.  The Word became flesh and dwelt among us.  That verse is referring to Jesus.  But it is also referring to “the Word”, before the “holy men of old” were inspired to write it.  So the Word is not only the written word, but the living word.JesusBaptism

This brings me back to my moment at the sink.  In the midst of feeling that wonderful and personal presence, the word comes.

“It’s harvest time.”

I think back over the years of prayer and sowing into the lives of my loved ones.  I think over all the care and worry.  I think of all I did that was right or good as a parent.  And all the hopes I have gripped and lost and gripped again.  And then I see a wonderful rest.  It is finished. He is faithful to complete it. He has heard me, seen me, and assured me, and in fact HE put the desires there in the first place! 1 Cor 15:46  The spiritual does not come first, but the physical and then the spiritual.IMG_7335So here’s to the physical harvest! And to the anticipation of a wonderful spiritual harvest!IMG_7349IMG_7347IMG_7348

Leave a Reply

