Sweaters, Sweaters, and Summer’s Still Here

Posted on Updated on

Since I am spending the days by my lonesome I decided to share my morning’s adventure and do a spot of writing on my blog.  First of all, thanks to all who enjoy reading my ramblings and looking over the images I capture.  It is with sharing in mind that I take photos in the first place. It isn’t only the freezing of time, or the capture of a moment, it is also just the beauty of being able to share a simple, “Check this out!”  It is as if I have you walking down the sidewalk with me, and I’m pointing to this or that and interrupting whatever you may be thinking or doing to show you something.  Something as miniscule as a how the wild flowers are the exact same species here, but look a little different.  Yes, this I will have to show you, since my companion didn’t think so. The Queen Anne’s lace is thicker here; not as wispy as ours is in the states.

So once again, allow me to bend your ear, your eye, your attention and humor me while I sketch a portrait of a Danish morning.

                  Queen Anne’s Lace Danish style

                  And North American Style

 I should be writing. This is what I tell myself.  I leave my room , or closet rather, so housekeeping can tidy up the place.  I go to the cafeteria-like dining room and sit with my computer and coffee and work on my story. But I can’t concentrate.  The sound of foreign sirens rings outside. (Link on right if you want to really be here with me…)

But that isn’t why I can’t concentrate.  The trouble is I have kroner burning a whole in my pocket and thrift stores I haven’t visited since June.  So after giving housekeeping a bit of time, I return to my room, ditch the computer, grab my camera and head out.  I have twice the usual distance to walk; something I would have done well to remember before loading myself up with heavy bags of winter loot! But here’s the load I carried back:

Found this funky raspberry jacket made of felt, and this quilted thing isn’t a skirt (yet). It’s a big square that I found with the scarves.  Looks like a good table cover to me.  Or maybe a skirt.

Love this big suede belt! And underneath is a fabulous long dress in a heavy tweed-like fabric! Oh, and I almost forgot this necklace I found that should look awesome with it!

                Don’t ask.  I have no idea.  But I liked it. And it was $3.

I guess I feel fall and winter coming on.  I love to collect sweaters, belts, boots, and all things warm.  But outside, it is still screaming summer. Even here in Denmark.

So there you have it.  Another day in the Old World.  Be sure you follow me if you want my blog posts to come to you automatically. And comments are cool.   Don’t be shy.  Next post I am thinking of sharing a teaser for the story I am working on.  Click like if you’re interested.

4 thoughts on “Sweaters, Sweaters, and Summer’s Still Here

    adaisygarden said:
    August 15, 2012 at 9:19 am

    Wow! Those flowers are beautiful! I’m sure you had a much better time outdoors with your camera than if you had stayed inside 🙂

    thrifthangover said:
    August 15, 2012 at 9:33 am

    Cute raspberry jacket!

    Shelly said:
    August 15, 2012 at 11:36 am

    Pretty sweater set …. Now quit goofing off and get writing!

    Krissy said:
    August 15, 2012 at 5:56 pm

    Bring me with you please!

Leave a Reply

