Route 90 Fifty-Mile Yard Sale

Posted on Updated on

I had to wait anxiously til Sunday to hit the fifty mile yard sale on the other side of Cayuga Lake. But it was worth the wait, and I’ve got lots of goodies and finds to share. We headed south in the morning and drove until I said, “STOP”.  Then we turned around and started browsing as we made our way back up the lake. The “STOP!” was caused by these beauties here. I have been looking for a cool oil lamp so I could start a collection.  By days end, I had a small collection.

Next stop I was gasping and biting my tongue and trying my best to sound casual! She had this old quilt marked $3.00.  Yeah, that’s right. THREE DOLLARS.  And a quilt top in a bit better shape, but unfinished, for $10. I hemmed and hawed and offerred her ten for the both of them.  DONE.  (Drumroll please…I am in heaven)

I found some good deals on glasses. One big box was only three bucks and it contained ten of these little juice gems that I fondly remember from my childhood.  In those days, you only had one glass of orange juice in the morning, and this was the size of the glass!  I guess with seven kids, you have to set limits.

I also found these wonderful diner-style coffee cups with saucers and dessert plates in a “free” box.  Plus another lovely mug for my collection.

 

I found this green stuff that I am unsure if I like it enough to keep it around for long. But it may become a keeper. Time will tell. 

I will surely keep them for a while anyway.  These candle holder swans are heavy and even though I paid 50 cents apiece for them, I am pretty sure they are silver. And if they are not, I am certain they are lovely!

This candle is a thrift store find from a month or so ago, but I am just crazy about it.  I would guess it’s made of bees wax since it has little honey bees all over it.  

I’ve been looking for one of these little-thing-holders for months now. This one came complete with all the little brass pieces!

And last of all, I picked up four pillows to fill these Pottery Barn pillow covers I found  at Salvation Army. 

That is one yard sale I will be putting on my calandar for next year!  In the mean time, it’s local  garage sales till summer’s end.

4 thoughts on “Route 90 Fifty-Mile Yard Sale

    klfslf99 said:
    August 1, 2012 at 7:59 pm

    Gahhhh! Why didn’t you call me?? You got some great stuff, congrats! I started my own blog…not sure it’s all that interesting to anyone, but it’s fun for me!

    Shelly said:
    August 1, 2012 at 8:04 pm

    We go every year … Total fun!

    thrifthangover said:
    August 2, 2012 at 12:21 am

    Sounds like an adventure! I like your oil lamp collection so far 🙂

    adaisygarden said:
    August 6, 2012 at 9:49 pm

    Wow! Great deals! Congratulations! 🙂

Leave a Reply

