All Things Vintage

Posted on

I have noticed since I first started my own family twenty-seven years ago that I had one basic philosophy: to take what I liked from my life up to that point and try to recreate it for my kids.  I enjoyed being free all summer to wander around, and stay up late, and have bonfires, and sleep outside.  So I let my kids stay home from school, and be free like lambs for most of their childhood.  I have memories of quilts on the beds, wallpaper on the walls, warm meals in the evening, football on television, and fires in the fireplace.  And the feelings of warmth and comfort are so strong, that I collect all kinds of things trying to recreate it for the rest of my life.

One of those things is vintage sheets and pillowcases.  I love the bright colors, and floral designs.  I never think new ones are quite as pretty.  And I like mismatched things.  I don’t think my mother could ever afford to buy sets of things, like bedding, so there were just piles of colorful pillowcases, sheets, blankets and quilts folded up in the closet.

I have a few mismatched collections of my own now; old wool blankets, teapots, vintage linen tablecloths and of course, the sheets and pillowcases.  These gems showed up on my doorstep yesterday.  I’ve been trying to curb my thrifting, but then ebay is just a click away!

I also browse wallpaper endlessly.  I cannot get enough of these fantasies.  I imagine wallpapering a bedroom, or a kitchen, or a dining room.  And I laugh inside realizing I have inherited my mother’s taste.

The wallpaper at our cottage was a green metalic floral with glitter in the pattern, and she chose a psychedelic bicentennial color fest in an upstairs bedroom.  My brother even had brown and gold paisley velvet wallpaper.  Mine was just a big playful pink  floral pattern.

I’m thinking I could recreate that too, with a modern twist of course. 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “All Things Vintage

    Kim Loveland Foss said:
    April 13, 2012 at 4:46 pm

    Mick, If you find some really great thrifting places and don’t mind sharing, I would love to know where they are. I visit my cousin in Rochester frequently, and would love to scout out some more stuff I don’t really need! Esp linens….and maybe we could meet up at one of them…love your posts!

    anorphanshope said:
    April 13, 2012 at 6:29 pm

    Sounds like fun! I’m game!

Leave a Reply

