Homemade Laundry Soap

Posted on Updated on

                 With very simple ingredients:  

                1 bar Fels Naptha soap, shredded

                 1 cup 20 mule team Borax

                 1 cup Arm & Hammer Super Washing Soda

You can whip up your own laundry soap for a fraction of the cost of  others.  And once again, the sweet satisfaction  of making it yourself shines through.  I’m overdue in making lye soaps, but when I do another batch , I will set some aside especially for shredding into laundry soap.  Or better yet, all the  scrap soaps normally saved  for rebatching can be shredded up for the laundry! 

With this mixture, you only need a tablespoon per load!  I tend to panic and use two.  Check out  DIY Natural for more information including instructions for liquid soap if you prefer. 

UPDATE…..

I just ran out of the last of my Tide.  I didn’t make the leap to home made laundry soap without having some Tide on hand.  But I ran out of my first batch of homey soap, and then ran out of Tide.  I can officially give my report on the quality and I must say, I am impressed!  I haven’t noticed a bit of difference using the home made and using my old standby, Tide with Bleach.  So now I  finished a big double batch of the fun new Fels Naptha stuff.  I had intended to shred my own home made soaps, but they are still curing down south!  I did a little calculating, and this new soap costs about $15 for 336 loads.  For me,  it’s not so much about saving a buck.  It’s that I like having jars of homemade stuff all around me.  I do wish I knew this little trick back when I was doing laundry for SIX!  So there you have it; an update on the dirty laundry.  I best get to it! 

5 thoughts on “Homemade Laundry Soap

    Kim Loveland Foss said:
    February 29, 2012 at 5:59 pm

    I have been using this for a few months now, and it is awesome! I started using ivory soap, which I didn’t care for. I am now using the Fels and it works so much better, plus the bar is bigger. I am using 1 1/2 cups of borax and washing soda to the one bar, and still get nice clean clothes! I also started using vinegar for softener, and love that too, especially for towels …soft, but still absorbent! Mickey, do you feel like an aging hippie?? Lol, that’s all I think of when I use it! P.S. The homemade dishwasher detergent from DIYnatural.com is great too…

    anorphanshope said:
    February 29, 2012 at 6:17 pm

    Aging hippie? What? I feel I was born in the wrong era entirely! I love this stuff! Shoulda been a pioneer!

    Kim Loveland Foss said:
    February 29, 2012 at 10:03 pm

    LOL, this is why I should never multi task! I meant to say new-age hippie! I guess trying to be green is sort of hippie-ish to me. I always wanted to be the Wilderness Family, minus the bears, so the pioneer description is perfect!

    shelly said:
    August 28, 2012 at 3:10 pm

    I am making a couple of batches today! Love it! Bring it on old hippie mama!

      anorphanshope said:
      August 29, 2012 at 2:21 pm

      Hippie I can take…but OLD?? eh em..

Leave a Reply

